Trinity United Methodist Church was formed from the marriage of two churches in the area. The Euclid Methodist Church (built in 1886) and the Morgan Church (built in 1839) shared a pastor for over a century during the height of Methodist popularity. In October 1960 Mr. & Mrs. Howard Mosher, in memory of her brother Theodore Hudson, presented the two churches with 7½ acres of land and the congregations wanted to build the pastor a parsonage. During the construction of the parsonage by both congregations in 1960, they decided it would be a rewarding experience to join together and form one church. They used one acre for the parsonage and designated the other 6 ½ acres for a new church. On August 26, 1962, the Morgan and Euclid Churches were duly constituted as a merged church by the District Superintendent of the Methodist Conference. On October 7, 1962, the congregation voted to name the new church Trinity United Methodist Church and a ‘future site’ sign was placed on the church property north of the new parsonage on Morgan Road. On Easter Sunday, March 29, 1964, the Trinity United Methodist Church broke ground for the educational wing. The first service was conducted in the new church on November 1, 1964.
In 1971, our church began sponsoring the Nursery School, a pre-school for 3 and 4 year old children.
In December 1982, William Bargabos, deeded a 30 acre parcel of land to Trinity.
The new sanctuary was consecrated on March 17, 1985.
Trinity’s very successful fundraiser, “Grandma’s Old-Fashioned Roast Beef Dinner” started in 1986 and has continued to be one of our most profitable fundraisers ever since with a huge help from our Mary Circle homemade goods table.
In 1992, our church basement was remodeled and new Sunday School classrooms were built. In September 1999, the Aimee Franc Memorial Playground was dedicated for all the Trinity children to enjoy.
In 2005, under Rev. Marti Swords-Horrell, Families for Effective Autism Treatment (FEAT) started using our building by remodeling a playroom for the children and an office for the adults.
In July 2011, we welcomed Rev. Bradford Hunt as our pastor and Paul Wood joined our staff as our guitarist and community outreach.
Trinity United Methodist Church has a rich history dating back 170 years. We have a proud Christian heritage which has been left to us by all the dedicated members who have done the Lord’s work, giving us a wondrous past and we are anticipating a strong future with ministries and missions to help people from all walks of life find a true connection to God.
Pastors of Clay Trinity:
1961-1969: Rev. Jack R. Buskey
1969-1976: Rev. Carl Johnson
1976-1979: Rev. Hollis Hayward
1979-1985: Rev. Roy E. Hansen
1985-2001: Rev. Ronald Hoffman
2001-2003: Rev. Thomas O’Donnell
Nov 2003-Jan 2004: Rev. Gary Bergh (Interim Pastor)
Jan-July 2004: Rev. Patricia Jelinek (Interim Pastor)
July-Sept 2004: Rev. Dr. Sudarshana Devadhar (Elected Bishop of Northeast Jurisdictional Conference)
Oct 2004-2008: Rev. Marti Swords-Horrell
2008-2011: Rev. Patience Kisakye
2011-Now: Rev. Bradford Hunt (also serves at Andrews Memorial UMC in North Syracuse)